1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by rugby_gal06, Jul 8, 2011.

1. After qualifying last summer believing that I would get a job...I have now applied for 30 primary teaching jobs, securing a mere two interviews this time last year!
    I have personalised my letter to the school, met the person specifications, added executive summaries, you name it, I've probably tried it. Including reading Theo's clickables, contacting the university careers service, having head teachers read my letter for another opinion and attending the TES job seminars! I fear that it is because I am a supply teacher, which some other posters on here seem to be finding is a problem.
    I don't see how we can win - we can't secure a post because of cuts, use of TAs & CSs, so we do supply to keep in the loop as it were (I thought this would have been favourable), to have applications rejected. I was told by one head teacher that it raises questions over my ability! Having achieved an outstanding grade on teaching practice and a highly classed degree, I don't think my ability can be questioned. The reason I did not secure a job after my training was due to the dwindling amount of jobs being advertised and the fact that I suffered a close family bereavement, resulting in me now being punished because of it.
    If we get a job as a TA and you are a teacher, you struggle to secure a post because you haven't been teaching. If we get a job as office staff in a school, you struggle to secure a post because you haven't got any recent experience of working with/teaching children?