1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any teachers who have retrained as TAs?

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by Grey_Historian, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Grey_Historian

Grey_Historian New commenter

I have been a teacher for 10 years but for various reasons (studying; wanting to get a different type of experience) I'm thinking about whether it would be possible for me to apply for TA jobs in future.

I know that being a TA would involve an array of additional challenges that I've probably never encountered as a secondary classroom teacher. I also suspect that most TA posts would have lots of really excellent, appropriately-trained applicants and that I therefore wouldn't be considered seriously!

That said, I know that some of my skills and experience would be transferable to the role.

I'd be grateful for any advice or stories of other people's experiences.

2. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter

I both know, and have had, teachers as ta's. None of them retrained, they wanted the pressure of teaching off but wanted to stay in the environment.

The last few ta vacancies we had, ex teachers got the roles. In at least one instance, they regained their confidence and trust in schools, slowly began teaching again then secured a teaching post in school.

3. peter12171

peter12171 Star commenter