1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

any step parents out there?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by moggycat, Mar 22, 2011.

1. I have been with my booyfriend nearly 3 years. He has small 3 children, I get on reasonably well with them and have made an effort to build up a relationshp. I do however worry about possible difficulties in the future. I wondered if anyone was in a similar position. Please don't respond to this thread with comments such as 'not worth the time' or 'its too much hassle and , what have you let yourself in for?'! As a teacher I see many step famlies, some not particularly happy and I don't want that to happen with us!

2. apologies for mistakes in this!

3. What kind of problems are you envisaging?
    I am not a step-parent (have been, but to an adult) but if I knew what kind of problems you are worried about, I could give you answers from "the other side", so to speak, as I am divorced with children myself.

4. Well I have a very supportive partner and he has explained to the children that we expect them to follow our rules when with us, they do at the moment...I guess I worry that they may start to turn against them when they are older. We are firm buut fair whereas at home we get the impression rules are quite relaxed.

5. That is simple - when they are with you, your rules apply, when they are home, the rules of that home apply. The same thing happens with grandparents, it is very common.
    As long as they know what is expected of them in each home, they adapt very well to that.