1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any positive supply stories??!!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by sazza2000, Mar 2, 2012.

1. Having read a lot of the threads on here, there is a lot about the downsides to the nature of supply teaching. I appreciate that these issues are real and are exacerbated for teachers who are not doing supply through choice. I have chosen to become a supply teacher after many years of 'normal' (lol) teaching.
    I really enjoy the freedom of supply teaching, choosing to a degree how much a work and being able to switch off when I arrive home for family time. When I was a full time teacher, the planning, meetings, reviews, assessments took over so much of my time.
    Whilst I appreciate supply teaching is not for everybody. My question is aimed at those who are doing supply teaching through choice. Are there any supply teachers who love what they do. If so, why?

2. Yes, I do for all the reasons you mention. I now have time to myself in the evenings, no meetings, little planning, no politics, no great pressure etc. I enjoy going to other schools and picking up new ideas. I like seeing how different schools are organised and run. I love being able to have a day off just because I feel like it. I can meet friends for lunch if I want to and I can go on holiday whenever I like. This does all depend on my being able to get sufficient work to fund the lunches and holidays but so far I have done.