1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any opinions on gamemaker v games factory 2?

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by LinW2010, Oct 15, 2011.

1. LinW2010

LinW2010 New commenter

Both systems are available at school, but I have little or no experience of either, and thought I'd ask opinions before deciding which one to focus on. Does either program actually teach anything useful other than pure games stuff, or is Scratch a far better option than either?
    I know Scratch fairly well, and to my mind it's a good introduction, but the kids just didn't seem to get on with it that well, which surprised me.
    Any tips/opinions/advice welcome :)
    Thanks.

2. cj3

cj3

I have not used Games Factory - but have used Game Maker and have found it very successful. There is a text book - Payne Gallway - which is good - and there is also a scheme of work which you can buy for £80 from teach-ict.com - very good value. Scratch is also excellent - I used a pacman game as my first intro to Scratch and again kids loved it. As for what kids learn - well at the very least they learn to sequence instructions - they also get to create a game, rather than just play them - and they have to consider good game design and usability. That should be enough to justify it. Scratch of course introduces them to formal computer programming concepts - and Game Maker does too, though less overtly.