1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

any headteachers who can advise a secondary trained teacher with a years primary experience?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Louise_Bates, May 18, 2011.

1. I am a secondary trained English and MFL teacher who completed 2 years in secondary and then switched to primary covering maternity for a years post. The switch wasnt easy and I had a lot to answer for and prove. I am now relocating and I want to apply for a permanent post. I am still concerned that people with a primary PGCE have an advantage over me, even though I feel I am a good primary teacher and will be backed up with good references. I have applied for a number of posts and have heard nothing. I have a feeling this is either to do with my secondary background or the fact that they think one years experience is not enough and why i.e. should they employ someone on M3 when we can have an NQT on M1 with the same experience. I was thinking of even putting on my application that id be willing to stay on M3 if money was the issue? Do you think maybe applying to inner city schools rather than schools in more affluent areas would help? im just confused as to why im hearing nothing from my applications. Sometimes i feel like im still paying the price for simply training with the wrong age group. your advise would be much appreciated and if there is anyone in a simiar situation please get in touch,