1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any Ex-Teachers... advice please?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by GEM-6892, Jan 25, 2018.

1. GEM-6892

GEM-6892 New commenter

Hi,

I am currently in my third year of teaching. Went straight into a PGCE after Fine Art degree. Was close to quitting PGCE. At the end of PGCE wasn't even looking for teaching jobs but my school had a position and wanted me to stay (I thought getting my NQT year done would be a good idea). Here I am 2 and a half years later knowing that it wasn't for me from the beginning. I am good at my job, liked by my department and feel I have made some very good contributions however I just don't know how I can do this for the rest of my life - I can't even fathom seeing myself teaching next year!. The thought of all the marking makes me anxious and now am even starting to dislike delivery my lessons. I am constantly knackered and never on top of work. I love making the resources and actually enjoy the free's where I get to sit at my desk and make resources/research etc. I also just really miss adult communication! I'm only 25 and feel like I'm missing out on life and other opportunities.

Apologies for ranting on but I wanted to see if there were any other ex-teachers out there who made this move and the careers you are now pursuing?

Many thanks

Dixie_Stamford likes this.
  2. carriecat10

carriecat10 Established commenter Community helper

I'n not sure I would be hanging around these forums if I was an ex-teacher. I would say that you are young enough to start again. Sorry not to be able to offer advice but maybe someone will come along and make some suggestions

3. kevinweav

kevinweav New commenter