1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Any advice for a student teacher in reception class

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by scaredstudentteacher, Mar 27, 2011.

1. I am thrown in the deep in for my placement and will be teaching a reception class for the next three weeks and don't know where to even start as my head is firmly in KS2. I have little to no experience with this age group except through church groups and it frustrates me as to how little they can do (sorry! :( I wish it didn't). Does anyone have any tips and although this is my third placement I have never had any LSAs in my class before now so would like advice on how I should manage them and use them efficiently. Also during structured play, what do you do? Where do you take observations? What does the LSA do?

Is your lesson planning similar to how it is in upper school? I am sooo nervous and don't know what to do or how to plan for this age group. I probably sound ditzy but I just feel unsure of myself.

I don't think the class do any self-assessment so would it be good to introduce that?

2. Ahhh it doesn't format into paragraphs :(.

3. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

Why are you in a reception class? I thought training was for 2 consecutive key stages.

4. I am on a BEd course so we do FS, KS1 and KS2 placements, we can even do placement in a nursery if we want.

5. hello,