1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Anonymise my social media?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by marbeless, Aug 24, 2019.

1. marbeless

marbeless New commenter

Hello all,

I’m about to start my PGCE. I’m a mature student and have been freelancing as a sole trader under my own name, so I have various social media accounts, a few publications and a website that use my name. I’m also autistic, and am open about that in person and on social media, frequently advocating for better inclusion.

But... now I’m wondering whether I need to distance my teaching self from all that.

I don’t want to close it all down, because I’m still involved in a few projects and hope to continue (links with my subject, so could be good Continued Professional Development etc). In many ways I’d like to continue being identified with these accounts because I have overcome quite a bit to get to this point and I’m not ashamed of my past struggles with access and I think it’s good to show that teachers are human and haven’t had charmed lives before ending up in the classroom.

So I’m interested in your thoughts - I am considering three options in particular-

1) I keep it separate and don’t explicitly link them with teaching - plausible deniability.

2) Keep it separate and use a different variation of my name within teaching e.g. take my middle name, and effectively have a new professional teaching persona separate from my freelance one. - separation

3) I just keep doing what I’ve been doing, stand by what I post (perhaps think it through more carefully, set up a new style guide for myself) - no hiding.

Advice? Thoughts? Benefit of your experience?