1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Annual EHCP reviews

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by HelloMrsEllis, Jan 9, 2019.

1. HelloMrsEllis

HelloMrsEllis New commenter

I work as a teacher in a MLD school. Every pupil in our school has an EHCP which is reviewed annually.

I wondered how other schools prepare for the EHCP review?

In our school, class teachers write a report in preparation for the review. At the moment this report has the headings English, Numeracy and PSD. The teacher is expected to add the child's levels, write a couple of paragraphs and set next steps for each title then make a general overall comment.

I have suggested to my head teacher that we change these titles to reflect the objectives set out in the EHCPs: namely Education and Learning (for life and work); Communicating and interacting with others; Friendships, relationships and being part of my community; SEMH needs; Independence and personal care; Physical needs and Sensory needs.

My head teacher has responded saying it sounds like a good ideea and has asked me to trial it and report back.

I just wondered what other schools do. After the report is compiled it is sent out to parents with a date for the review meeting, then teachers are expected to annotate and update the current EHCP with any revisions in time for the meeting. I believe changing the way we write the report will make this preparation easier.

During the review these changes are discussed and either agreed upon or discarded.

Just curious what others do and think.

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter

What I think you propose makes perfect sense - more fit for purpose.

3. R13

R13 Occasional commenter