1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

An open letter to Nicky Morgan

Discussion in 'Education news' started by luv2teach6, Mar 7, 2016.

1. luv2teach6

luv2teach6 New commenter

Dear Nicky Morgan,
    I am a primary school teacher and this week my class have been discussing the importance of having morals and fairness in society. We would really appreciate your views regarding our debate scenarios.

Scenario one: Ten men are building a bridge to provide a valuable link between two countries. They have been given four years to complete the 12 foot wide bridge. They are three years into the build when their employer decides that, after viewing the bridges of other countries, they want a wider, longer bridge. They also conclude that there are not enough supports in the sections already built and so they knock holes in the completed section and demand that they are filled, the bridge is widened and the new length completed, all still within the same four year time frame. In addition, they remove all equipment that the workers use to measure the bridge, instead demanding that they design their own way of measuring. If the bridge falls short or if all holes are not filled, the workers will have to start the bridge over again. Is this morally right?