1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

An expedition to a third world country

Discussion in 'Personal' started by lilachardy, Apr 14, 2012.

1. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

Have you tried Operation Wallacea?

2. Mangleworzle

Mangleworzle Star commenter

Around £2000 each.

3. lilachardy

lilachardy Star commenter

The fundraising is part of the experience, surely?
    It is in my school.

4. Thank you for the name. I'm completely new to this so I appreciate the recommendation.

5. jacob

jacob Lead commenter

Try Wales, some parts are like Third World, but that is also true of some parts of any bit of the UK.

6. Andy_91

Andy_91 New commenter

The "Third World" gets a lot of traffic from well-wishers who breeze in for two weeks, build something and breeze out again.
    Often the work done is not socially, politically or environmentally sustainable - examples include housing with inadequate infrastructure support, bore-holes for safe water that get taken over by gangs who charge extortionate rates, wells dug without the health and hygiene training needed to keep them secure - the list is endless.
    Many of the charities and NGOs involved are viewed with contempt by the inhabitants, who consider such projects are just salves for wet-liberal western consciences - a little bit of do-gooding for young students before settling down to a career and exploitation as before.
    Not to mention the carbon involved in the jaunt.
    Far from being "good" expeditions of this sort are almost wholly misconceived and bad.

7. Have you had a look at Schools Worldwide?