1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

An exciting way to teach decimals to year 5's?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Apr 25, 2011.

1. I'm a trainee teacher on my final teaching placement and tomorrow I'm teaching them what each digit represents in decimals, rounding and ordering them (1dp, 2dp etc) and marking decimals on a number line. Does anyone know where I can get a number line to use on the whiteboard and how to make this lesson exciting? I have prepared worksheets but they seem really boring and I don't think it's going to stretch the higher group. I taught the class for a week before easter and the higher group found the work easy and got through it really quickly. I'd followed the advice from my teacher but they did much better than I had expected (it was coordinates work).

2. ShadowMan

ShadowMan New commenter

A good activity for the high ability would be to give them a picture of an abacus with spikes for tens, units and tenths. Given 3 beads to place anywhere on the abacus, how many different numbers can they make? i.e. 11.1, 30, 2.01 etc. This can then be extended to 4 beads or to an abacus with hundredths. They can list all their findings in order.

3. marlin

marlin Star commenter Forum guide

4. To me that sounds like 3 or 4 or more lessons not one.
    Place value and location on a numberline would link well so that could be put together into one lesson - using knowledge of place value to help them put the numbers in relation to each other. You can stretch the highers by including numbers with more decimal places - you may need to support them though and introduce extra vocabulary in a guided group rather than in the main input.