1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

American needs help with Interview

Discussion in 'English' started by katherinekidd85, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Hi!

I'm an American qualified teacher and I have been out of the secondary classroom for over a year (apart from the few days of supply teaching I've done here in the UK the past few weeks)... and so I'm feeling a bit intimidated about my interview for a Teacher of English position next Tuesday.

In my "Invite to Interview" letter I received today, I was asked to prepare a lesson on ANYTHING to present to a top set of year 9's with approximately 15 students in the class. Well... I'm confident I can create an engaging lesson. BUT, I'm afraid I'm going to fall short of their standards because I don't do something to exact curriculum, exam boards, or whatever UK-specific standards.

Does this mean I need to study up on the KS3 curriculum? Which I have, and it's familiar to me. But what tips or tricks can someone in this forum give me that will help me wow them? Or make them know I have gone the extra mile in making sure the lesson was UK appropriate? What's expected of me?

Also, in the US we don't use the term "plenary".... what is a plenary?

Thanks in advance... I hope someone can help!

2. Hi!

I'm an American qualified teacher and I have been out of the secondary classroom for over a year (apart from the few days of supply teaching I've done here in the UK the past few weeks)... and so I'm feeling a bit intimidated about my interview for a Teacher of English position next Tuesday.