1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I too old?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by bellsk, Mar 2, 2016.

1. bellsk

bellsk New commenter

I am 50 and applying for jobs. I want to leave my current school for many reasons , but mainly I want a change! I have applied for 2 jobs, and haven't even been shortlisted. I took your advice on writing a letter of application and showed it to a couple of people for extra advice. I'm feeling discordant, is it my age? Should I redraft my letter? I'm feeling disappointed as I am a good teacher! What can I do?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

It is, of course, impossible for us to tell you why you haven't been successful. There are so many possible factors, not the least being the number and quality of other applicants.

That is not a large number. And if it's for a subject with no shortage, in an area with no shortage . . .

You should, of course, re-draft each time, as you shouldn't be sending the same letter to each school. Have you, I wonder, also been doing your E.S. before doing the letter? That does help you to concentrate on what are the essentials required by each school.

Why you should always include an E.S. in an application

In theory it shouldn't be, as that is an illegal discriminator . . . However . . .

Jobseeking for the older candidate

Best wishes

3. snowflakesfalling

snowflakesfalling Occasional commenter

Getting a new job at 50 is entirely possible. I did it. :)

jomaimai and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  4. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

And I'm 55 and start my new post after Easter!

jomaimai and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  5. peakster

peakster Star commenter

I've moved jobs twice in my 50s (and may well do again !)