1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I overworked?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by FredWelsh34, Jan 28, 2016.

1. FredWelsh34

FredWelsh34 New commenter

I work as a classroom assistant for 8.20 pounds per hour at primary level,
    I work 20 hours per week.
    Last week I was literally worked into the ground, and ended up doing my back in.
    The class teacher literally keeps me on my toes with requests and does not even allow 5 minutes to spare. If she is doing delivery I have to get up a ladder and put the display on, or do some other arduous task rather than sit and listen.
    If she is doing PE she makes me teach the difficult students art and speaking. I am having to laminate clean, help with work, tutor the special needs, mark the books, supervise boys changing for PE on my own, do cleaning, lifting, photocopying, cleaning and although I get my break times, I am flat out the rest of the time.
    I am literally exhausted and have never worked so hard in my life for so little pay.
    Note I am a qualified teacher who does supply on days off, and I am never so demanding of my classroom assistants.
    I am never thanked for the tasks I do, although the class teacher is not unpolite as such, she never once has recognised how hard I work or said any niceties like "well done on your first week" or whatever.
    Does it sound as if I am being overworked?
    I have never worked as a teaching assistant before but frankly it seems full on considering how little I am paid. Opinions?

2. Cervinia

Cervinia Occasional commenter

Over-worked, under-appreciated and under-paid...

You chose to work in education so you may as well get used to it. Or get out!