1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I making up the numbers?!

Discussion in 'Independent' started by bettycom, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Hello
    I applied for a job at a local Independent School, I have been teaching in state sector for 10 years.
    There were two jobs advertised, no interview date was given in the advert. Almost 3 weeks after the deadline I received a letter inviting me for interview. My concern is that I am being asked along to make up numbers, it seems unusual to leave it so long before asking candidates to attend.
    Anyone else experienced this? What was the outcome? Am I just wasting my time and effort?
    Thanks
    [​IMG]

2. v12

v12

Of course, independent schools aren't necessarily tied by the same bureaucratic form-filling of some authorities and can decide how and when they interview and so forth.
    I don't think you can suppose that you are just making up numbers - and it might be a good idea, in any case, to use this as a testing platform for your interviewing techniques.
    Good luck anyway.

3. For my replacement (I'm leaving at the end of the year), the deadline for application was March 8th and they've just contacted people for interviews. This term is really busy, trying to get GCSE sorted (new controlled assessments are proving to be a nightmare!), A Level orals (for languages) etc.
    I don't think you should concern yourself about making up numbers - they want to interview you! End of story! :eek:)

Good luck!

4. florian gassmann

florian gassmann Star commenter

They wouldn't have wasted money on advertising or interviewing if it was a "done deal".