1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I likely to get an interview?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by Frightenedtodeath, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Frightenedtodeath

Frightenedtodeath New commenter

Currently a DH in a tough state school and I can demonstrate impact in the areas I have led. There are two AHT posts in an Indy school being advertised and I, along with my partner in crime (fellow DH), would like to apply.

Three concerns:

1) I have a second class degree (suffered a close bereavement weeks before finals)
    2) I'm hoping to have fertility treatment this year.
    3) Are they going to want anything to do with a DH from a school way down in the tables?

What are my chances here? I'm wincing writing this down.

2. Frightenedtodeath

I'm thinking I haven't got a cat in hell's chance. Think I might spare myself the humiliation!

3. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

1. Practically irrelevant. They are looking for AHT/DH-type skills, experience and track record
    2. Irrelevant.
    3. Depends entirely on what you have been doing. If you have been successful in school improvement then that's what you need to be selling. What special skills, experience and insight can you bring? Match the job description and person specification to what you have. If there's a good fit, go for it.

4. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Indies, like all other schools, just want fab teachers who are great at their job.
    Your degree is largely irrelevant, unless it is a super snobby school which would be horrid anyway. The school you currently teach in is irrelevant, again unless they are super snobby school, most couldn't give a monkey's.