1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I doing the right thing?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Flumptious, Apr 2, 2017.

1. Flumptious

Flumptious New commenter

I am currently a university lecturer, but my department is being closed. I have decided to do a PGCE, and I have 2 interviews in a fortnight - at both a uni, and a SCITT. (I have already had one interview at a SCITT, but they clearly disliked me, although thinking about it, since, I suspect that the fact that it was a catholic school, while I am a screaming atheist, had something to do with it!)

I am quite used to preparing teaching, standing up in front of a class (although it will be a very different class, so I have a lot to learn, of course), and having lots of preparation, marking and/or admin etc. to do in the evening.

When I first posted about this, back in January, the general feedback was "Yes - go for it!", but recent stuff has been much more negative. So, do you think it is sensible to go into teaching, now, or do you recommend that I run, screaming?

Flump

2. mandala1

mandala1 Occasional commenter