1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I doing it right?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by rainbowstripes, Jan 26, 2012.

1. I am fairly new to Early Years and love teaching my Reception Class. Thing is, I don't really know if I am doing it right. We seem to be quite limited resources wise compared to other schools but due to circumstances, there doesn't seem to be any money for new things so we are sort of 'stuck with what we've got' so to speak.
    Plus, I have no idea if my children are accessing things correctly, often my writing table is just used by them to colour in! Though at the moment they have taken to making books. How can I encourage actual writing? I am on my own with them the majority of the time so is hard to sit and model things as I have so much else to get on with.
    A lot of my children seem to want to play lots of imaginary games, today it was dogs and they were crawling round the carpet etc. Is this type of thing acceptable or should I be stopping this? I am perfectly happy for them to prance round the classroom in fairy wings and dresses or play Cinderella in my role play area but I know some people frown on this type of thing.
    We have things to play with such as dinosaurs, lego, sorting toys etc but they are sometimes bored of these now, no idea how to make them more exciting?!
    I want my children to be the best they can be and achieve their full potential so want to make sure I am doing things right.
    How can I extend their play when I have writing/reading/numeracy groups to do? Our school has a big push on reading so I am trying to hear them read a lot. This takes up a lot of time! [​IMG]