1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I being too sensitive?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by lainyp69, Sep 15, 2015.

1. lainyp69

lainyp69 New commenter

Cutting a very long story short. I am a qualified teacher still trying to complete the NQT year. I started at a small village school (3 classes, 60 pupils) as TA, and have worked there (now becoming HLTA) and teaching French and Music through the whole school. We have had several bad experiences as a school, including very poor leadership which resulted in a recent OFSTED of requires improvement. We have also just federated with another local school, with the HT from the other school overseeing both schools. Any way that's the background, of which there was an awful lot more which resulted in very low esteem throughout.

At the end of last term, out of the blue, I got told in a stand up conversation with the HT, that another member of staff ( who I had considered a good friend) was also becoming HLTA and so she was doing some of my HLTA hours and that she was bringing in an expert (a TA from the other school) in Early Years to cover some of my other hours. When I think back to those last few weeks I recall other members of staff being very vague in what they wanted me to teach and why certain other things were being done and said.