1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I being stupid? (Question about moving to Thailand to teach)

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by chris dino, Mar 4, 2009.

1. O.K. I know I'm opening myself up for the obvious answer being yes here!
    I've decided after years of umming and ahhing about it, to finally apply and up sticks to go and live and teach in Thailand. I've applied to a couple of schools and would ideally like to work in a school in Bangkok (I'm a qualified primary school teacher, with 5 years experience).
    I've told my head, as I needed him for a reference and in my head I've already left the school.
    What I'm starting to think now is if I don't get a teaching job and i'm desperate to get out there I could teach English with some sort of Tefl type thing and then continue to look for proper jobs whilst there.
    What I'm worried about is if this will be frowned upon by any future employer? Will it effect my chances of getting a job? Am I just being impatient?

Anyone have any ideas or comments? Feel free to call me stupid!
    Chris

2. I certainly don't think you are being stupid (especially since you are actually thinking about it!) but 2 things to consider.

1. If you are there you will probably be able to pick up some supply work, get to know some of the schools and get known by them which will enhance your employment prospects (as long as you aren't ****) for when a job does become available.

2. If you are living there already and do get a job you will probably be a local hire. That will mean a less cushy package.

Goodluck with the hunt. With any luck you'll get one of the jobs you have applied for and then this won't matter.

3. hsavager

hsavager New commenter