1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I being discriminated against? Or am I just overreacting?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by miss_c, Jun 23, 2011.

1. miss_c

miss_c New commenter

Hi all,
    over the past 2 months I have been organising a school trip for a class I have taught for 2 years. It is a day trip to a destination about 150 miles away. I am 27 weeks pregnant and will be 29 weeks pregnant on the day of the trip.
    I was informed yesterday by a member of management that I will not be allowed to go on the trip as a result of my pregnancy. Apparently it is a health and safety issue, in case I go into labour on the bus, or something. He was quite vague about it and certainly didn't show me any paperwork to back up the decision that a woman in her 29th week of pregnancy is not fit to go on a school trip.
    What do people think about this? I am very hurt and very angry and have already drafted a letter to the head outlining the many reasons I think this is an unfair and unreasonable decision. My HOD has advised me not to send the letter as I don't want to get on the wrong side of management (especially with maternity leave looming and trying to negotiate a new part time post to come back to etc.).
    Should I pursue what I feel to be unfair treatment? Or am I overreacting?
    Thanks

p.s. Just to add that I am having a healthy pregnancy so far and am young, fit etc. and there is no reason to believe there will be any problems/complications.

2. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

Hi miss_c,
    I was healthy too- but the muscles and tendons get affected by the progesterone and RELAX so this is what happened to me...