1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Am I being bullied/harassed?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by marniott, Jun 11, 2015.

1. marniott

marniott New commenter

Hi all,

It has been a long time since I last posted but I am desperate for advice and really couldn't think of anywhere else to turn.

I have been a teacher for about 6 years and my first 5 1/2 years were brilliant - always good/outstanding lessons, fantastic relationships with pupils and colleagues, supported colleagues across the borough, etc, etc. In February I moved to another school to take up a TLR post (leading a year group - 3 classes) and things have gone downhill since then.

for a fact they did/still do.

My problem is that one of them is best friends with the DHT and it is impossible to say anything against this teacher. The other is an NQT (which makes me feel even more worthless - how can I let an NQT belittle me - this isn't meant as derogatory towards NQT's?!) who is very strong minded and knows how to say/do the right thing in certain situations. She complains about everything to her NQT mentor (my direct line manager) and then I am called into the office to explain myself. I make year group leader decisions and they are then questioned by my colleagues and then overturned by senior management. During PPA sessions my line manager comes in and "asks" about the lessons this week - and (as if by coincidence) the "mistakes" I have made are highlighted in front of the year group (and sometimes other staff) I will add here that the mistakes I have made DO NOT impact the learning of the children and have only ever been mistakes on the "answer" sheets that I create to support teacher marking.