1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Alternatives to SIMS?

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by ohdoshutup, Oct 6, 2010.

1. Sorry for the cross-post - I put this in Administrators too, but I wanted an SMT perspective.
    I'm a borough consultant, and part of what I do is helping people
    use their NOVA and Assessment Manager modules to better effect. My
    experience is that people who b1tch about SIMS tend not to have
    realised what it can do and aren't using it properly - usually, when I
    train them, they come around (although I will admit that if you have a
    slow computer, using SIMS is a real snooze).
    However, I'd be interested to know if anyone has experience of using CMIS or any of the other SIMS competitors.
    I'm
    particularly interested in how they handle electronic parental
    reporting, since many of my client schools find the fees for SIMS
    Learning Gateway a bit on the steep side. My response to them is
    generally "yeah, but it works well, doesn't it?". A well-administered SIMS db is a great thing, and many of the problems people have with their SIMS are just as a result of poor data discipline and bad training.
    Anyway, I'd just like to have a better sense of what's out there, as I feel a bit underinformed on the competition.
    Thanks!

2. What happens if he leaves?

Can anyone else manage the system or make the changes as they are needed?

Could he claim copyright on it in the future?

3. Blimey. As a former database designer, I can honestly say that building and maintaining that database to a decent standard is a full time job in itself.

4. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter