1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Alternative jobs for teachers?!!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by victoriabarrett86, Nov 13, 2011.

1. Hello all,
    Never posted on here before so not sure if i'm going about this the right way but i'm not sure where else I can go for advice. I'm a Year 2 teacher at a primary school, its my 5th year of teaching in my 3rd school. I've either moved schools or year groups each year so have never had the continuity of the same room and planning for 2 consecutive years. I'm rethinking whether teaching is even for me anymore; I love teaching and am in my element in Year 2 but feel that I can no longer cope with the extra demands placed on me (mentoring an NQT, running the Xmas production, running the school council, running a club, coordinating Science, formally assessing my children every week to ensure their grades go up, the list goes on). When i'm in the classroom I feel so happy and really enjoy the satisfaction of teaching the children something new but unfortunately teaching doesn't appear to be just that anymore.