1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Alternative GTP/PGCE

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Mattyc33, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I am currently desperate to teach. I have a 2:1 Sports Studies Degree and have been a TA in a mainstream secondary school since March '11.
    The school I work in has agreed to support me through a GTP however, after applying to numerous universities to obtain a place on a GTP I have either been told that they are not running the GTP due to cuts or that I don't have enough PE experience (which was hard to take seeing as I am unofficially attached to the PE department and have taught lessons to different year groups).
    Teaching is also a career change for me as I am 33 and have worked in various different industries throughout my professional career - but I understand that not all my experience will be relevant.
    It feels as though I am being punished for my degree choice and my question is if there is another secondary subject that my degree would enable to obtain a place on a GTP or even a distance learning PGCE?
    Thank you

2. Hi,
    I am currently desperate to teach. I have a 2:1 Sports Studies Degree and have been a TA in a mainstream secondary school since March '11.
    The school I work in has agreed to support me through a GTP however, after applying to numerous universities to obtain a place on a GTP I have either been told that they are not running the GTP due to cuts or that I don't have enough PE experience (which was hard to take seeing as I am unofficially attached to the PE department and have taught lessons to different year groups).