1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Alps Data headaches

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by StartEducation, Sep 4, 2016.

?

Does Alps work for Art?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

100.0%
  1. StartEducation

StartEducation New commenter

As an art teacher I have always had a bit of an issue with Alps data. It never quite provides the shiny happy evidence that I would like. This year in particular, it is more problematic than helpful. My AS art group included a number of students who hadn't done GCSE art .... And they inevitably struggled. Their grades were predictably low but Alp doesn't take their background into account, it simply looks at their GCSE results and judged them on that. Rather frustrating.

I would be very interested to hear if anyone else has faced similar issues relating to Alps.

Best regards

Mael

2. mrkeys

mrkeys Occasional commenter

Make them take GCSE art first.

3. StartEducation

StartEducation New commenter

This is not always in our control.

4. Sisyphus_rolls_again

Sisyphus_rolls_again Established commenter

I have not voted because I am not an Art teacher, however:

Do you have access to the whole report, or just your subject's page?
    The 1st half of the document explains the rationale, the second half is specific to your 6th form.

The ALPS system is based on 3 fundamental principles, the 3rd one specifies High quality target setting. If the targets are produced purely numerically, with no consideration for the mix of subjects that can hardly be described as 'high quality'.