1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

All those in Cairo

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jmlweeks, Nov 14, 2008.

1. Hello all,
    If possible could anyone give any information about living and working in Cairo. I have been looking at some International schools in Cairo and would like an updated idea of the good ones if possible. I lived in Bangkok for a year so am used to this kind of city so wonder if Cairo is simialr in anyway?
    Also I am currently studying my PGCE and want to know if it is possible tot get jobs as an NQT here, and what things would be good for my application...
    Thank you for any info....

2. Hello all,
    If possible could anyone give any information about living and working in Cairo. I have been looking at some International schools in Cairo and would like an updated idea of the good ones if possible. I lived in Bangkok for a year so am used to this kind of city so wonder if Cairo is simialr in anyway?
    Also I am currently studying my PGCE and want to know if it is possible tot get jobs as an NQT here, and what things would be good for my application...
    Thank you for any info....

3. speakers

speakers New commenter

Cairo for me was a great experience.

I was at the MESSY school. Enjoyed it very much. I, and many other, have posted about this many times so you could do a search.

As to getting a job as an NQT - good luck. The better schools in Cairo can afford to pay decent wages for the right staff and generally do. No disrespect intended but an NQT is a risk that schools in Cairo dont need to take.