1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ALIS reliability

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by RobMathers, Nov 10, 2017.

Tags:
  1. RobMathers

RobMathers New commenter

Hi All,

I am Head of Department for Maths at a school with predominantly (over 99%) international students. We ask our students to sit the ALIS test on arrival and Senior Leadership set departmental objectives based on these. While I am fairly new to this role, I have taught here for a few years and know for a fact that for us, there is almost no correlation between ALIS and exam results at the end of the year.

I wanted to know how accurate this data is for other schools/sixth form colleges with predominantly British students. I do not want our objectives pegged against something unreliable but I don't know how strong an argument I have at this moment in time.

Thanks!

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Established commenter

I'd start by doing some work on your school's data, not only for Maths but also for other subjects. What exactly is the correlation value?
    Then I'd contact CEM Centre at Durham and ask for their comments. They may well be able to give you some helpful datasets.

3. RobMathers

RobMathers New commenter

That's very helpful, thank you.

We have a data manager in school so I shall try and get this information from her. I hadn't considered contacting CEM; presumably they are interested in how accurate their data is for International Students too.

4. RobMathers

RobMathers New commenter

Turns out the PMCC between the actual result and ALIS is 0.301 for the department.

5. frustum

frustum Lead commenter