1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Algebraic x

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by DeborahCarol, Aug 2, 2011.

1. DeborahCarol

DeborahCarol New commenter

May seem trivial, but...as a tutor, I've noticed that only a minority of my secondary students write an algebraic 'x' (sorry, can't do one here!). They write 'x' as in multiplication sign. They maintain that they're not expected to at school, and are surprised (and even resistant!) when asked to correct their work.
    Comments?

2. David Getling

David Getling Senior commenter

Yes, here in the fatherland, I've also noticed this. When I mention the possible confusion with multiplication they might say they have been told to put in extra brackets or use a dot for multiplication.

Using an algebraic x is more often more elegant, so hopefully with enough encouragement more students will adopt a better style.

3. Many kids can't even write at that age so I see it as a bonus. TBH as nice as it would be Im not really fussed. I prefer to use the dot for multiplication and let everything else ride.

4. mmmmmaths

mmmmmaths New commenter

Proper 'curly' x all the time for all pupils of all ages and ability. Never had a problem with this. They know why they are asked to do it and younger ones seem to enjoy the "grown up" nature of using it. Having said that I still say and write formulae rather than formulas, as used in more recent text books, so maybe I am just a dinosaur!

5. trinity0097

trinity0097 New commenter