1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Agency etiquette

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by zippycfb, Nov 25, 2011.

1. zippycfb

zippycfb New commenter

As an NQT, I'm still fairly new to the world of supply so I'm still getting to grips with how all the agencies work.
    I signed up with just the one local agency back in July, it was the first one who contacted me after I thought I was applying for a 'job' by uploading my cv on to a website. I deemed this enough despite being inundated by agencies who I assume got my details from the website. The agency, in my opinion, have been good to me so far, but I've still only had 10 days work since September which is not enough to survive on.
    Because of this I'm starting to look around at other agencies and have just rang one re a 'job' advertised on the jobcentre website. Surprise surprise, vacancy filled but the consultant swiftly moved on to quizzing me about my work history, which agencies I've worked for, which schools, what are they like, etc. etc. She was clearly writing everything down I said which made me feel a little uneasy as I was merely enquiring about a 'supposed' vacancy, I wasn't expecting the third degree. Is this the norm for all agencies? Now I remember why I only signed with the one back in July, I had lots of pushy consultants ringing me constantly telling me how desperate they were for Maths teachers (laughable now I know) and I decided that I would stay with the one agency out of loyalty (misguided now I know) and just see how it went.