1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

After School Club Ideas. Help!!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by neenybeen, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Hi
    I am currently working within a pre-school based at a primary school. We have taken over the schools failing after school club and have until the summer to turn it around. I have some experience of working in a club but i have never really worked with older children. If anyone has any ideas of activities to interest the older junior children? Ideas of advertising? And anything else that you think would help us turn the club around on a buget i'd be really grateful! Many Thanks!

2. Hi
    I am currently working within a pre-school based at a primary school. We have taken over the schools failing after school club and have until the summer to turn it around. I have some experience of working in a club but i have never really worked with older children. If anyone has any ideas of activities to interest the older junior children? Ideas of advertising? And anything else that you think would help us turn the club around on a buget i'd be really grateful! Many Thanks!

3. annie apple

annie apple New commenter

Hi - I dont run an after school club but my children attend while I'm working so I've picked their brains about their club which seems to be thriving.
    For the first part of the session they have a choice of
    - drawing table which is always out,
    - some sort of ICT activity( TV, DVD, DS or Wii )
    - portable storage unit with stuff like construction/ cars/ dolls etc.
    - a craft/art activity
    depending on the weather children have access to the library for quiet chilling/homework or the playground with outdoor toys.