1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

After School Club advice. Help!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by neenybeen, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Hi
    I am currently working within a pre-school based at a primary school. We have taken over the schools failing after school club and have until the summer to turn it around. I have some experience of working in a club but i have never really worked with older children. If anyone has any ideas of activities to interest the older junior children? Ideas of advertising? And anything else that you think would help us turn the club around on a buget i'd be really grateful! Many Thanks!

2. Hi
    I am currently working within a pre-school based at a primary school. We have taken over the schools failing after school club and have until the summer to turn it around. I have some experience of working in a club but i have never really worked with older children. If anyone has any ideas of activities to interest the older junior children? Ideas of advertising? And anything else that you think would help us turn the club around on a buget i'd be really grateful! Many Thanks!

3. nomad

nomad Star commenter

Amongst the other suggestions which I am sure you will receive, try running a weekly film club.
    It will cost you nothing - free films and promotional materials.
    http://www.filmclub.org/

4. anon2799

anon2799 New commenter

They just did a free cinema experience at our school. Absolutely brilliant.

5. Hi
    We were in a similar position to you a couple of years ago when a private provider pulled out - it has taken time but the club has grown and we are now nearly full before school and have a healthy number (for us) 6 -12 children after school.