1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

After 4 years in YR/1/2...now for Y4/5/6!! Any advice please??

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Twinkles, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Twinkles

Twinkles New commenter

I've been teaching now for 7 years, in KS1 for the first 3 in a large London primary and for the last 4 in a lovely village school where I've got myself well and truly settled in YR/1/2. Now we have a dynamic new head and he's decided we need a shake up so, as the title says, I'm off from one end of the school to the other! I wasn't too impressed at first, but I've started to see how useful it is for me to make this move and I'm quite excited at the prospect.
    BUT - I really need to know what I need to know to make this work! I'm off work at the moment following an operation so it's an ideal time to do some proper research. Any ideas about where I should start would be very, very gratefully received.
    Many thanks [​IMG]

2. I started this year as an NQT in y3/4/5/6. I personally find you target the y6 to extend and support the y3, it has taken time to get the balance right to not neglect y4/5.
    Next year I will have y4/5/6 so will plan as a y5 class and differentiate up and down. Maths is the worst lesson for obvious reasons. I find the older children enjoy helping the younger though!
    Everything through a topic - ours at the moment is locality - this makes life easier. If your planning is clear it works, you find the balance. Good luck!