1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advise needed please

Discussion in 'Primary' started by skybloo, Apr 29, 2012.

1. skybloo

skybloo New commenter

Hi all, I'm after some advise. I have been teaching for 9 years and during this time I have had 2 children, 3 & 6, and changed jobs 3 times. 2 different schools in my first 2 years of teaching. I now only teach for 4 days and still get ppa time, which I am extremely grateful for as I then only teach 3 1/2 days. I am now feeling the pressure of data, results and trying to balance home and school life. Obviously trying to be the best mum and trying to be a good teacher and doing what I need to do for school but not just at school at home as well. Now the government advise for schools is the longer you have been teaching the better you should be. Which is understandable, but you can not always be an outstanding teacher with a busy home life as well. My husband is very understanding with regards to work load but he can see the pressures of my job are getting to me and obviously there is more to life than your job - even if it is teaching! What I would like to know is...

Do I quit a job that is a constant source of work?
    What are the pros and cons of supply vs permanent employment?
    Any other advise for a very nervous, lacking if confidence teacher.

Thanks

2. harsh-but-fair

harsh-but-fair Lead commenter

Advice, not advise.

3. skybloo

skybloo New commenter

Thanks so helpful.

4. clear_air

clear_air New commenter