1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

advice

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by mr_free_sat, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Im going to be working with 7 KS2 pupils at KS1 level.The pupils themselves find it hard to concentrate and the first week I want to engage them in activities which will be fun but at the same time give me an indication as to their levels.
    At present I have no idea of abilities and this is my first time working with SEN pupils.
    If anyone has experience or suggestions for activities I can use to see ability I would appreciate it (maths and literacy especially)!
    Many thanks

2. dc521

dc521 New commenter

Hello there,
    First of all: don't panic. This is more common in KS2 than people know about. Do you know the year group of the children? This will influence the advice I can offer you.
    This is a very rough guide for how to manage.
    Maths: It's very easy to use different year groups resources / lesson plans to create activities. While you may have to 'uplevel' the style of activity to meet the age appropriate levels of the children, it's often the way I meet the needs of my very poor Maths group.
    English: I tend to use the Year group units for the planning and then simplify the text, writing, reading and focus areas for the SEN group.
    Within both core areas, there is a key need to work at the level of the children and also to give them a chance to try something new. Here's some examples.
    Maths: instead of just learning about how to use a ruler, I set the group a challenge to use the damn things.