1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice - Volunteering in Primary Schools

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Paula2907, Nov 26, 2011.

1. Sorry if any of this is wrong, I am new to using the forums and to posting. I am looking at a change of career into primary teaching...currently I am on maternity leave.
    I have had a look at a number of different options and spoke to the TDA who have advised I get some experience in primary and secondary schools. I am intending on telephoning/emailing the schools but am unsure as what I need to say or write?
    I am assuming I tell them of my intentions etc but am not sure how much detail I need to go into?
    Any advice would be much appreciated....

2. Emailing is a good idea though if you don't hear back, you might want to follow up with a phone call. Just say that you are thinking of doing a PGCE or GTP and would like to get some experience to see if it's the right choice.
    We've just had someone spend a week with us (primary) for that very purpose. Before that, she had spent a week in a secondary school.
    Alternatively, primary schools are often interested in volunteers to help listen to reading etc, so you could offer to do that if you had some free time where you could go in on a regular basis. Perhaps it would be a good idea to start with a week's "work experience" and go from there.

3. Primary Schools are very busy places - where you would think any volunteering support would be willingly accepted! However this isn't always the case, there are a few reasons behind this..