1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice sought for getting a job at an IB school

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by marilyn2, Oct 17, 2019.

1. marilyn2

marilyn2 New commenter

Hi there,
    Apologies in advance if this has been discussed on this forum before but I didn’t see anything about this by searching the forum. I was wondering if anyone can help as I’m becoming disheartened.

I have many years of experience in my subject as HOD in UK and also a few years international school experience also in my subject (not in IB curriculum schools though). I am looking to move to IB schools but I’m having real trouble even getting shortlisted let alone an interview. I think my CV is strong and I have good references. Signed up with search associates. I’ve done online (v expensive!!) IB courses in my subject out of my own pocket and think carefully about my cover letter, tailoring it to the school etc... I can only think that my lack of IB experience is holding me back.

Any ideas how I can convince an IB school I’m worth considering?

Many thanks in advance for your advice

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

are you only looking at popular destinations like BKK, Singapore, KL, Hong Kong etc? if you are, try getting your foot in the door at a less desirable location for a few years then move on. also look at "lower tier" schools as a gateway into the system and then move up to better schools

gulfgolf and yasf like this.
  3. yasf

yasf Occasional commenter

I'd second this. Be super flexible on location and school to start off with. Also, you haven't mentioned which subject you are. That might not help either.

gulfgolf and dumbbells66 like this.
  4. marilyn2