1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please

Discussion in 'Personal' started by 07019, Jan 20, 2020.

1. 07019

07019 New commenter

Hi everyone
    First time posting here - just looking for some advice.
    I’m in my third year of teaching now and I am feeling very overwhelmed. I am looking at leaving the profession altogether. I have recently moved phase and although I am happier teaching wise I am finding paperwork and all of the stuff that comes with is unmanageable. I am working around 80-85 hours a week minimum that’s without the time I spend thinking and worrying about the week to come. I feel that I don’t have a work life balance at all and struggle to find time to see family. I am glued to the laptop. I recently took over the role of ICT co ordinator with no training or support and the previous coordinator left without handover. I have been looking and completed my first application for a different career tonight. Do I click the submit button? I can’t see any other way

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

If it's starting to get to you, you need to get out before you end up with health issues.

You can always pull out of an interview/ decide not to take the post if offered at a later date, but yes I'd say you need to be actively applying elsewhere.

3. nomad

nomad Star commenter

Yes. Submit the application. If you are unsuccessful you are no worse off.

4. 07019

07019 New commenter

I feel like I can’t switch off at all. Family and friends have noticed how much work I bring home. SMT are supportive of my new role however when LEA or inspectors next visit then will they be as supportive?

5. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter