1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please?

Discussion in 'English' started by deanjp, Jun 9, 2016.

1. deanjp

deanjp New commenter

Hi everyone,

Im looking to gain some advice, I am 20 years old and as of October this year I will be studying BA (Hons) English Language and Literature and then looking to do my PGDE after I graduate, which of course isnt for a good few years yet.

I hated english at school and to be honest I didnt even like school nor was I the best behaved person in school, which looking back on it now, I do regret and would love to be a teacher that gets kids engaged and excited in lessons whether its their favourite subject or not.
    I studied my TEFL qualification and I found it really interesting both on the actual English Language but also the teaching metholodgies etc.. Once I finish that qualification I really decieded that teaching is something I might actually be good at and really enjoy hence going on to study my degree.

I am just looking for some advice from people who maybe joined teaching a little later in life compaired to people who went straight from school to uni to become a teacher, or anyone else who didnt particularly enjoy school and then went on to to be a teacher, what was your experience like? how did you find it? and just any future advice you may have for me.

Thanks! :)

2. bob79

bob79 Occasional commenter