1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Sdsmith123, Jan 9, 2016.

1. Sdsmith123

Sdsmith123 New commenter

Hello,

I'm sad to say I am writing one of the 'leaving teaching' posts and sad to see there are so many!

I am in my second year of teaching and have made the decision that this will be my last year. It isn't a decision I have come to lightly!

I've had back problems since May this year and I am currently off work due to this. I have been off work since December 9th and my doctor has signed me off until January 31st. I felt massive guilt about this but I physically am unable to work currently and I've gotten over the guilt and am putting myself first!

I am a year 5/6 teacher and so have SATS later this year. Ideally I would like to leave at Easter, however this seems 'unfair' as the children have SATS, residential, school play etc.

Has anyone been in the position of leaving a year six class mid way through the year?

I think I could last until Summer and am aware this may be more beneficial in terms of being paid over the Summer!

Also, if I did decide to leave at Easter, will my current absence from school effect that in any way?

Thank you for any advice in advance!

2. old_dobbin

old_dobbin Occasional commenter