1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by irishgirl1982, Sep 27, 2015.

1. irishgirl1982

irishgirl1982 New commenter

Hi. I have been a T.A for many years. I work as a 1-2-1 with an extremely difficult child. They are not statemented.
    I spent most of last year out of class with them and restraining them.
    They are aggressive to other children and adults. Refuses to listen to anybody. (They will listen to me sometimes)

I have suggested ADHD and OD D. The school have finally admitted there is a problem. They have yet to offer any support.

The Senior management team are not helpful. They reward them when they are sent to them with stickers and a walk. The child has learned that to misbehave is the vest way of getting rewarded.

I have tried reward charts,positive praise, every sanction you can think of. I have tried ignoring bad behaviour.
    The schools latest offering is to keep them outside the classroom and for me to teach them phonics,literacy and maths. (They still only do half day)
    And they will only be allowed in the room for fruit time.
    The teacher supports them as they have complained that the other children are unable to learn with him in the room.

The childs family are unable to cope with them. They hit and push the parent every day at hand over time.
    They are apparently waiting for a CAAHMS appointment but this could be untrue.

My questions are
    -Can they do this?
    -I am only paid as a Level 2 TA,will this be more like a level 3/4
    - What can i do? Im in a union. Is it worth getting them involved?