1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please - Year 9

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by robmusicman, May 4, 2011.

1. robmusicman

robmusicman New commenter

Hi, I'm currently a music PGCE student, struggling with some year 9s in my final placement. Generally, throughout this placement, and especially my first placement which was at quite a rough school, I have been told my behaviour/classroom management is good, however I can't seem to get through to a group of year 9 girls.
    They seem to be laughing at me behind my back. Now, I'm not upset by it or anything, as I've got a thick skin, my dilemma is how it effects my standing with my class. It's hard to be in a position of authority when some of them are laughing behind my back. I think it may have to do something with me being male, as another male PGCE student at my school as mentioned the same type of problem. Any advice for how to deal with it and assert my authority?
    Thanks!

2. robmusicman

robmusicman New commenter

Hi, I'm currently a music PGCE student, struggling with some year 9s in my final placement. Generally, throughout this placement, and especially my first placement which was at quite a rough school, I have been told my behaviour/classroom management is good, however I can't seem to get through to a group of year 9 girls.