1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please on teaching maths in the UK.

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by TwoLegsBaaad, Jul 20, 2011.

1. I am an American math teacher. I need advice in several areas.

What are places in the UK that would be good to teach and where should I avoid? I certainly do not expect anyone to answer this for all of the UK but if people could share their knowledge of the areas they are familiar with that would be helpful. I can do the same for you about the US if you like.

What sites do I go to in order to find public school jobs in the UK? I do not want to work for private or religious schools. I also am not interested in supply jobs, which I think is what in the States we call substitute teaching assignments. I would rather change baby diapers with my teeth than be a substitute teacher.

2. I am an American math teacher. I need advice in several areas.

What are places in the UK that would be good to teach and where should I avoid? I certainly do not expect anyone to answer this for all of the UK but if people could share their knowledge of the areas they are familiar with that would be helpful. I can do the same for you about the US if you like.

What sites do I go to in order to find public school jobs in the UK? I do not want to work for private or religious schools. I also am not interested in supply jobs, which I think is what in the States we call substitute teaching assignments. I would rather change baby diapers with my teeth than be a substitute teacher.

3. I have always worked in the north-west and in the schools I have worked in (mixture of state, private and church schools) the children have been mostly well-behaved and lovely.