1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please: new TA overwhelmed/unsure of role 3 months in

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by joannarh95, Jan 19, 2018.

1. joannarh95

joannarh95 New commenter

Hi,

I graduated from Uni last year, and have been a Teaching Assistant working in Nursery since the end of October. The job I am in was advertised as a general TA role, not 1:1 (I sadly no longer have the advert, but I wouldn't have applied for it had it been advertised 1:1). I wasn't given a job description, however I have kept the copy that was on the recruitment site where I found the job details. It's a generic TA job description.

When I started the job, I was told that I would be given responsibility for carrying out Speech and Language Therapy interventions with some children (I have a Linguistics degree), and that I would be supported by a Speech and Language Therapist (as I have been). I also made it quite clear in the interview that while I am really interested in Speech Therapy, I have never had any training and this was one of the questions I asked about at interview. I am now finding however that I'm really out of my depth with the SLT. They are aware that I need training and so are sending me on two courses in a couple of weeks and in March. This is fine, however I am currently worried that if they were to do an observation, I would completely fail it at the moment.