1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice please independent school application

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by WaltWhite, Jan 17, 2016.

1. WaltWhite

WaltWhite New commenter

Hi all

I am a teacher with 10 years state school experience (inner city comp with excellent reputation). I have decided I need to change schools to be happier with myself and to not feel at the end of my career any "what if's". I have found over the years that no matter how much I try and take onboard advice and training that I struggle with low level disruption in particularly KS3 and KS4. With high ability groups and A Level classes I seem to do much better and my subject knowledge is a strength. I really care about the kids I teach as Im sure is the case with the people that post on this forum and I do struggle with the pressure from management and data , observations, and give my self a hard time about this. Although I do really try (possibly too much ) to achieve what they expect, I don't seem to be able to all the time! Its affecting my family life and I need to do something about it.
    I wondered if applying for a teacher post in an independent school would be better for me, I believe I could contribute to their success if given a chance. Could my application have any chance considering that I am now a middle leader and top of the upper pay scale? Im thinking that they may tend to go for younger newer staff (i.e. cheaper) for a teaching role with no responsibility. Im also interested in how I would put on my application that "I am looking for a new challenge" seeing as Theo wisely suggests I do not do this! Any thoughts greatly appreciated

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter