1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on Yr 9 Art lesson - Portraiture

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by mharvey89, Oct 22, 2011.

1. I'm a PGCE student and am in the middle of planning for my first lessons to be delivered after half term! :s
    I have planned 30mins in the lesson for the class to draw a rough sketch of themselves from the photo they were asked to bring in as homework using pencil and paper. I have then planned 30 mins for the class to improve their drawing by tracing their image with acetate and marker pens. They will then be using the acetate as an aid when they start painting their portraits next lesson.
    They have previously been taught about the proportions of the face, and i will provide a short demonstration to drawing portraits to go along with this.
    Is this plan too ambitious for a Year 9 class? If so what would you suggest to make it more understandable?

2. joli2

joli2 New commenter

It doesn't sound enough for some students. You need to plan an extension activity. Also, you must plan for those students who don't bring in a photo for whatever reason.

3. joli2

joli2 New commenter

How long does the activity take when
    you do it? It takes students roughly 3x as long as you (I've found). I
    estimate the planned activities would take about 30-40 minutes in
    total. So:
    I wouldn't be asking for a 'rough sketch' to start with, but a considered drawing.
    You need to plan an extension activity.
    Also, consider why you are asking them to copy from the photo (to learn to scale up, to stylise)?

and where the painted portraits are going - are you aiming for realism or looking at different artists' styles?