1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on when I can start a new job

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by sbevan3, Jun 20, 2018.

1. sbevan3

sbevan3 New commenter

Hi and thank you to anyone who is taking the time to read this.

I have been teaching for four years and for many reasons have decided to take a break from teaching and explore other prospects.

I handed in my resignation in May so that my contract will finish at the end of August.

Am I able to start a new job in the 'in-between period'- the end of term being in July and my contract extending until the end of August?

2. 50sman

50sman Lead commenter

If you are still under contract you are still being paid so no.

3. dts

dts Occasional commenter

50sman is technically correct, but it may be that your current school doesn't object - you will need to check with HR first.

4. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

How would your school know? And what could it do about it should it find out?

Better legal minds than mind will probably have the correct answer but I see it as no different to putting in a few hours tutoring or marking exams. As long as you pay the correct taxes and don't affect the day job.

5. sparkleghirl

sparkleghirl Star commenter

I have always misunderstood this, apparently, in thinking that while your contract might run to Aug31st, your last day of service is the last day of term and the rest is payment for holidays not yet taken.

Given that that is not the case, would it be ilegal then to take holiday work during the summer break?

And what about if you move from England to Scotland (or overseas) where the school term starts in August?

6. jago123

jago123 Established commenter