1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

advice on time management needed please

Discussion in 'Primary' started by alsoamum, Nov 12, 2011.

1. alsoamum

alsoamum Occasional commenter

hi all
    I have been teaching for 10 years, but for the last 7 years have been part time so have had days off during the week obviously.
    I am soon returing to teaching full time in a new year group and would really welcome any tips about getting the important jobs done, but also having a worklife balance with time to spend with my family?
    Anyone else with young children who managed working full time? And how do you do it and stay sane at the same time?

2. alsoamum

hi all
    I have been teaching for 10 years, but for the last 7 years have been part time so have had days off during the week obviously.
    I am soon returing to teaching full time in a new year group and would really welcome any tips about getting the important jobs done, but also having a worklife balance with time to spend with my family?
    Anyone else with young children who managed working full time? And how do you do it and stay sane at the same time?

3. ballerina

ballerina New commenter

Leaving school on time is very important, meeting tend to go over the allocated time a lot but i always leave on time, whether it is finished or not - i stated this early on and have always stuck to it - nobody seems to mind and in fact one member of staff said she was glad i did because the meetings always finished very shortly after that if not there and then.
    I also do not do any school work until my daughter is in bed, the afternoons/evenings are my time with her and there is plenty of time to do work after that if needed.